Masks

Masks3

 

Was house-cleaning the iMac and I came across a collection of tracks I recorded in the late 1990s. Never really been available, apart from a few tracks on Soundcloud. Anyway, I decided to post it on Bandcamp. So of you are interested head on over there, or check the widget below.

ENSEMBLE

Interesting new mix from my American cousin Pierce Inverarity. A selection of jazz/avante-garde tracks from Ensembles. For a while back in the seventies many jazz bands became ensembles. A statement of intent? We are not your average common or garden musical combo – we are serious! Many of these ensembles tend toward the avant garde end of the spectrum, merging jazz with classical and some serious discordant colours. Looking through the track list there are some of my personal favourites on board. Such as, Steve Reid, P.E. Hewitt and Bobo Shaw. Anyways, if you want to discover the kind of jazz noise ensembles manufacture, check out the mix.

 

Top Twenty Mixes | DJ2tee | Mixcloud

Image

It’s always difficult to predict what will go down well with the punters on Mixcloud. For example, many of my friends are heavily into early seventies spiritual jazz, me too. But it appears that the listeners on Mixcloud are not that enamoured with the genre. I consistently get low volumes of listeners when I post a spiritual jazz mix. Quite the opposite for Japanese jazz, it always gets a lot of plays. Why? Does Mixcloud have a hardcore of Japanese jazz aficionados? Search me! I wish I knew. In order to try and analyse my listening trends I have logged my plays over the last six months. Surprisingly, my mix inspired by Eric Satie came top of the list. There must be a lot of Satie fans out there. Well I guess there are, but I didn’t expect so many on Mixcloud. Spanish Jazz came a close second, lets here it for the Iberian peninsular. And, in third place “Verse” my poetry and jazz joint, another surprise. Must be some Ginsberg fans in the mix!

Anyway, here is my top twenty mixes – take a listen if you care to, but I’d be just as happy if you checked out some of my less successful mixes at: http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/. They are all my children and just because they failed to make the charts doesn’t mean I’m any less proud of them.

MIX CHART

01 Satie http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/satie/
02 Jazz Espana http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/jazz-espa%C3%B1a/
03 Verse http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/verse/
04 The Crusaders http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/dj2tee-presents-the-crusaders/
05 Unusual Suspects http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/unusual-suspects/
06 Jazz Reggae http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/jazz-reggae/
07 Japanese Jazz 2 http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/japanese-jazz-2/
08 Japanese Jazz 3 http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/japanese-jazz-3/
09 Japanese Jazz 1 http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/japanese-jazz/
10 Universal Musical Mind http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/universal-musical-mind/
11 Nordic Noir http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/nordic-noir/
12 Turkish Delight http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/turkish-delight/
13 Talk to the People http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/talk-to-the-people/
14 The Joyous Sound of Flute http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/the-joyous-sound-of-flute/
15 Ocean of Sound http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/ocean-of-sound/
16 Modal Jazz http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/modal-jazz/
17 Bad Sneakers http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/bad-sneakers/
18 Polish Jazz http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/the-story-of-polish-jazz/
19 Amen Break http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/amen/
20 Afro-Blue http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/afro-blue/

Dada | DJ2tee | Mixcloud

Dada1

I started my career as a photographer and designer and was inspired by in those formative years by the art movement known as Dada. To the disdain of my tutors, it influenced my approach to art and music. I loved the the humour and irreverence of artists such as Marcel Duchamp. Unfortunately, I was eventually kicked out of art school (No mean feat in those days) for my wholehearted adoption of Dada principles.

For those of you who are not up to speed, Dada or Dadaism was an art movement of the European avant-garde in the early 20th century. Many claim Dada began in Zurich, Switzerland in 1916, spreading to Berlin shortly thereafter. Dada was born out of negative reaction to the horrors of World War I. This international movement was begun by a group of artist and poets associated with the Cabaret Voltaire in Zurich. Dada rejected reason and logic, prizing nonsense, irrationality and intuition. Dada was not confined to the visual and literary arts; its influence reached into sound and music. Kurt Schwitters developed what he called sound poems, while Francis Picabia and Georges Ribemont-Dessaignes composed Dada music performed at the Festival Dada in Paris on 26 May 1920. Other composers such as Erwin Schulhoff, Hans Heusser and Albert Savinio all wrote Dada music, while members of Les Six collaborated with members of the Dada movement and had their works performed at Dada gatherings.

I’ve put together a music mix which attempts to capture the essence of Dadaism. It includes music from a range of musicians, some relatively modern, some from the early part of the 20th century. Listening to some of the early works it is strange to think how controversial they were at the time. Nevertheless this mix is not “easy listening”, you will need to check your preconceptions at the door and dive into a strange ocean of sound. You can acess the mix at: http://www.mixcloud.com/tony-todd/dada/